A simple commuting tale

This morning I left for my cycle to work at the same time as one my neighbours left for their drive to work. Our routes take us different ways from south Edinburgh and come together on South Bridge and North Bridge.

It was dark, cold and there were plenty of icy patches were water had frozen on my journey this morning. I was on my winter bike and, given the conditions, was taking it easy. As I approached the Chambers Street/South Bridge junction I saw my neighbour go past in their car. I waited for the green light and then got caught up in the normal traffic jam that South Bridge is whilst building work goes on. Finally clearing South Bridge I made it across the Royal Mile and caught up with my neighbour, going past using the bus lane whilst they were stuck in traffic. 

There’s not much new in this tale. Bike beating cars on journeys through Edinburgh is a usual story but it was nice to know that my mode of transport to work is the quickest even on a cold winter’s morning. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment